Ohio primary May 3

i ohio voting stickers

During the May 3 Ohio Primary Election, Ohio voters will have a chance to weigh in on who will represent the political parties in November’s General Election. Ohio law provides for open primaries, meaning voters do not have to register with a party to participate in its primary. Voters select the ballot of the party whose primary they wish to vote in at the polling place.

Unlike some states that have run-off elections, in Ohio the winner of the primary election is determined via plurality vote. A candidate with the highest number of votes wins even if he or she did not win an outright majority of the votes cast.

Early voting is underway and ends May 2.

Polls on May 3 are open 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

According to the Board of Elections, absentee ballots returned to the board in person must be received no later than 7:30 p.m. on Election Day. A near relative, defined as a voter’s spouse, or the voter’s father, mother, father-in-law, mother-in-law, grandfather, grandmother, brother, or sister of the whole or half blood, or the son, daughter, adopting parent, adopted child, stepparent, stepchild, uncle, aunt, nephew, or niece, may return an absentee ballot of behalf of a voter.

Absentee ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than the day before Election Day and received by the county board of elections no later than 10 days after the election. By state law, a postmark does not include a date marked by a postage evidence system such as a postage meter.

Members of the uniformed services or a voter outside of the United States must have their ballots mailed not later than 12:01 a.m. on Election Day at the place the voter is located.

Democrat candidates

When Buckeye State Democrat Party members vote in the May 3 Primary election they will have a choice between John Cranley and Teresa Fedor or Nan Whaley and Cheryl L. Stephens for governor and lieutenant governor.

For U.S. Senate three Democrat Party candidates have stepped forward: Tim Ryan, Morgan Harper and Traci TJ Johnson. For Representative to Congress for the 6th District four candidates have filed: Louis G. Lyras, Shawna Roberts, Martin Alexander and Eric S. Jones.

Republican candidates

Ohio Republicans will be able to choose between Ron Hood and Candice Keller, Jim Renacci and Joe Knopp, Joe Blystone and Jeremial W. Workman, and incumbents Mike DeWine and Jon Husted for governor and lieutenant governor. For secretary of state, incumbent Frank LaRose will face off against challenger John Adams.

For U.S. Senator, seven Republican Party candidates have filed: Jane Timken, JD Vance, Matt Dolan, Mike Gibbons, Josh Mandel and Mark Pukita. For Representative to Congress in the 6th District incumbent Bill Johnson faces Michael S. Morgenstern, Gregory M. Zelenitz and John Anderson.

In other state and county primary races only one candidate filed.

Tax Levy

In Ohio’s Washington County, voters will have a chance to vote on the proposed county tax levy, even if they chose not to vote on a specific party’s primary ballot by using an Official Questions and Issues Ballot. In Monroe County, there will be no levy vote.

Washington County Proposed Tax Levy (renewal) – A renewal of a tax for the benefit of Washington County for the purpose of providing funds for ESSENTIAL PREVENTION, TREATMENT, AND RECOVERY PROGRAMS FOR CHILDREN, ADOLESCENTS, AND ADULTS AT RISK FOR MENTAL ILLNESS AND SUBSTANCE USE DISORDERS at a rate of not exceeding one-half (0.5) mill for each one dollar of valuation, which amounts to five cents ($0.05) for each one hundred dollars of valuation, for a period of five years, commencing in 2022, first due in calendar year 2023.

Be the first to comment on "Ohio primary May 3"

Leave a comment